How Long Do You Have to Have Your Permit Before Your License?
Most states make under-18 drivers hold a permit about 6 months, but it ranges from none to 12 months. See every state's wait, adult rules, and practice hours.
It depends on your state and your age. For drivers under 18, the most common minimum is 6 months with a permit, but some states require 9 or 12 months, and a few list no set period. For drivers 18 and older, many states shorten the wait to 30–90 days, or drop it entirely.
Below you'll find the holding period for every state and Washington, D.C., plus the supervised driving hours (and night hours) many states require before the road test. Where the research behind this post didn't confirm something, we say so instead of guessing.
How long do you have to have your permit before you can get your license?
For teens, the holding period is part of graduated driver licensing. The permit has to be held for a minimum time, usually without tickets, before you can take the road test or move to the next license level.
- 6 months is the most common rule for under-18 drivers (for example Alaska, Arizona, California, Massachusetts, Nevada, New York, Pennsylvania, Washington and many more).
- 9 months in Illinois, Maryland (under 18) and North Carolina.
- 12 months in Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Kansas, Vermont and Mississippi (at 16). Georgia requires one year and one day.
- Shorter or split rules in Connecticut (120 or 180 days), South Dakota (180 or 275 days) and Hawaii (180 days).
- Not stated in the handbooks for some states, such as Wyoming and New Hampshire. Check with your DMV.
Do you have to have your permit for 6 months?
Often, but not everywhere. If you're under 18, 6 months is the rule in a large number of states, but plenty of states ask for longer. Many states also say "6 months or until you turn 18," so the wait ends at your 18th birthday either way (California and Alabama work this way).
Some states add conditions. Missouri and Florida want a clean driving record during the holding period. Others, like Alaska, require no conviction in the prior 6 months. A ticket can extend your wait.
How long do you have to have your permit at 18?
At 18 and older the rule gets shorter in many states, but it isn't universal. Some states only waive the wait at 21, and some still apply the same rule to every age. Here are the adult rules the notes confirm:
- Delaware: first-time adult applicants can't take the road exam until 10 days after the permit is issued.
- Ohio: 14 days for temporary residents age 21+.
- Connecticut: 90 days, plus the 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course for adults new to licensing.
- Oklahoma, West Virginia and Michigan: about 30 days.
- Kentucky: 30 days at 21+ (180 days for ages 16–20).
- Virginia: 60 days before the first road test, or complete approved driver education.
- Maryland: 3 months at 18 with a diploma/GED or at 19–24, and 45 days at 25+.
- Minnesota: 3 months at 19+.
- New Jersey: at least 3 months at 21+.
- Utah: none at 18 (but driver education is required), and 90 days at 19+ unless you complete driver education.
- Indiana, Massachusetts and South Carolina: the holding period applies regardless of age (180 days in Indiana and South Carolina, 6 months in Massachusetts).
- Washington D.C.: if you turn 21 while holding a learner permit, you can schedule the road test right away, with no certification form and no 6-month wait.
For many other states, the handbook doesn't state an adult holding period. That could mean there's no wait, or just that the handbook doesn't say. Confirm with your state's DMV before you book a test.
How many supervised driving hours do you need?
The most common requirement is 50 hours, with 10 at night. A parent, guardian or other adult signs a log or affidavit. Some states ask for more: Maine requires 70 hours, Pennsylvania 65, North Carolina and Kentucky 60 (Kentucky for under 18). Some ask for fewer, like 40 hours in Alaska, Connecticut, Georgia, Missouri, Vermont and Utah.
Night hours also vary. Louisiana requires 15 at night, and so does Minnesota and New York (the latter counts hours after sunset). Georgia and Arizona require just 6 at night under some options. Details are below.
Permit holding period and supervised hours by state
Rules are for first-time teen applicants unless noted. "Not in handbook" means the state's driver handbook doesn't say, not that there is no rule.
Alabama to Georgia
- Alabama: Ages 16–17 can take the road test after holding the learner license 6 months or until their 18th birthday. An out-of-state comparable license counts. The graduated licensing law doesn't apply at 18+. Supervised hours and the adult holding period: not in the handbook.
- Alaska: 6 months before a provisional license for ages 16–17. A parent, guardian or employer certifies 40 hours, at least 10 of them in progressively challenging conditions such as bad weather and night. No conviction in the prior 6 months. 18+: not stated.
- Arizona: Ages 16–17 (Class G): 6 months, plus one of three options. Option 1 is driver education. Option 2 is a parent certifying 30 hours, including 10 at night. Option 3 is 20 hours, including 6 at night, after a Traffic Survival School or Defensive Driving course. 18+: not in the handbook.
- Arkansas: The learner's license (ages 14–16) stays restricted until age 16 and 6 months of restricted driving. The intermediate license is restricted for 6 months from the permit date or until 16. Hours: not in the handbook. A license issued at 18+ is non-restricted, and an adult holding period isn't listed.
- California: Under 18: hold the permit at least 6 months, or until you turn 18, before scheduling the drive test. You need 50 hours with a driver 25 or older, including 10 at night. An out-of-state permit counts.
- Colorado: Minors hold the permit 12 months and submit a signed driving log of 50 hours, 10 at night. 18+: not specified.
- Connecticut: Ages 16–17: 120 days after the permit with approved driver education, otherwise 180 days. At least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training; night hours not in the handbook. 18+: at least 90 days, and adults new to licensing also need the 8-hour Safe Driving Practices course.
- Delaware: The Level One permit runs 12 months of valid driving authority and then converts to Class D. The sponsor certifies 50 hours, including 10 at night. Graduated licensing is optional at 18+, and first-time adult applicants can't take the road exam until 10 days after the permit is issued.
- District of Columbia: The learner permit is for age 16+, with driving allowed 6 am to 9 pm. The provisional license requires 6 months on the provisional license and a signed form certifying at least 10 hours of night driving. The D.C. DMV's provisional-license page also counts "6 months driving with a learner permit" in a 12-month clean-record rule. The total supervised hours and the holding period for ages 18–20 are not confirmed on an official D.C. DMV page, so check the D.C. DMV learner permit page. At 21, see the no-wait rule above.
- Florida: Under 18: hold the learner's license 12 months or until 18, with no moving-violation convictions. A parent or adult 21+ certifies 50 hours, 10 at night. 18+: not in the handbook.
- Georgia: Class D at ages 16–17: a valid instructional permit held one year and one day, plus 40 hours including 6 at night, driver education and ADAP. At 18+ you may apply directly for Class C with a signed affidavit of 40 hours including 6 at night. No holding period is stated.
Hawaii to Maryland
- Hawaii: Hold a valid instruction permit 180 days before a provisional license, plus driver education. Hours and adult rules: not in the handbook.
- Idaho: Under 17: a minimum 6-month, violation-free supervised instruction period, a 50-hour log with 10 at night, and required driver training. Age 17+: the Class D permit is valid one year, with no stated holding period or hours.
- Illinois: Ages 15–17: hold the permit at least 9 consecutive months, log 50 hours with 10 at night, and complete driver education. Ages 18–20 who were never licensed need a 6-hour adult driver education course. Adult holding period: not stated.
- Indiana: All applicants hold a valid permit at least 180 days. You need 50 hours with 10 at night, unless the permit has the daylight-only restriction. Under 18 can practice with a licensed relative 25+, and 18+ with a licensed driver 25+.
- Iowa: The holding period, supervised hours and adult rules are not confirmed. The handbook only sends readers to iowadot.gov for the graduated license program. Check the Iowa DOT driver's license manual and iowadot.gov.
- Kansas: Under 17: hold the instruction permit one full year or until 17, whichever comes first. A parent affidavit covers 50 hours, 10 at night. 18+: not stated.
- Kentucky: Ages 16–20: 180 days. Age 21+: 30 days. Under 18: a Practice Driving Log of 60 hours, 10 at night.
- Louisiana: The learner's license is held at least 180 days (minimum age 16). A parent statement covers 50 hours, 15 at night. At 18+ outside the graduated program, you need a 38-hour driver education course, or a 6-hour pre-licensing course plus 8 hours behind the wheel. (Source: the Louisiana driver manual; check the Louisiana OMV for the current version.)
- Maine: Under 21: hold the permit 6 months with at least 70 supervised hours, including 10 at night. Ages 18+ can get a license without a driver education course. At 21+, no holding rule is stated.
- Maryland: Under 18: 9 months without a violation. At 18 with a diploma/GED, or ages 19–24: 3 months. Age 25+: 45 days. Under 25 you need 60 hours with 10 at night. At 25+ it's 14 hours with 3 at night. A moving violation or suspension means 9 months at any age. An 18-year-old without a diploma/GED: not stated.
Massachusetts to New Mexico
- Massachusetts: Hold a valid permit at least 6 consecutive months. Under 18: 40 hours of supervised driving (30 with a skills program). Night hours: not in the handbook. Driver education applies only under 18.
- Michigan: Under 18: Level 1 held 6 months, with 50 hours including 10 at night. Segment 2 requires 3 months and 30 hours with 2 at night. 18+: practice at least 30 days on a temporary instruction permit before the skills test (one page words this as "may be required"), so confirm with the Secretary of State.
- Minnesota: The permit is held at least 6 months if you're 18 or younger, and 3 months at 19+. Under 18: a supervised log of 40 hours (15 at night) if a parent took the parent class, otherwise 50 hours (15 at night).
- Mississippi: Hold the learner's permit 1 year before a regular license at 16. At 17+ you may apply regardless of permit history. A parent, teacher or guardian affidavit covers 50 hours. Night hours: not in the handbook.
- Missouri: Hold an instruction permit at least 6 months (182 days). You need 40 hours of driving instruction, including 10 at night. No alcohol convictions in 12 months and no traffic convictions in 6 months.
- Montana: Under 18: hold the learner permit 6 consecutive months, with 50 hours including 10 at night.
- Nebraska: Hold an LPE, SCP or LPD at least 6 months before the Provisional Operator's Permit. Meet it with either a DMV-approved driver safety course or a 50-hour form with 10 hours between sunset and sunrise. Adult holding period: not stated.
- Nevada: Under 18: permit held at least 6 months with no at-fault crashes or violations. 50 hours with 10 at night, recorded on form DLD-130. Adults: not stated.
- New Hampshire: No learner permit is issued, and a holding period isn't in the handbook. Ages 16–17 need driver education with 40 supervised hours, 10 at night. (Source: the New Hampshire driver manual; check the NH DMV for the current version.)
- New Jersey: Under 21: at least 6 months of supervised practice, with 50 hours including 10 in darkness. A parent, guardian or supervisor signs the BA-CSD form. At 21+ (Option C): at least 3 months, with no hours requirement.
- New Mexico: Hold the instructional permit at least 6 months. 50 hours including 10 at night, certified by a parent or guardian. Adults: not in the handbook.
New York to Tennessee
- New York: The junior permit is held at least 6 months. 50 hours including 15 after sunset, certified on the MV-262. Adults: holding period not stated.
- North Carolina: Level One (ages 15–17): 9 months, with 60 hours including 10 at night. An 18+ learner permit has no holding period or log listed.
- North Dakota: Ages 14–15: 12 months or until 16, but no less than 6 months. Ages 16–17: 6 months or until 18. Under 16: 50 hours, with night driving one of the logged conditions but no set number. 18+: not stated.
- Ohio: Under 18: hold the TIPIC at least 6 months. Under 21: 50 logged hours including 10 at night, plus driver education, on notarized affidavit BMV 5791. Temporary residents 21+: 14 days. Other adults: no holding period stated.
- Oklahoma: At 16: 180 days before the driving test. At 18+: the driving test can be taken 30 days after the permit is issued. Supervised hours: not in the handbook.
- Oregon: Under 18: permit held at least 6 months, with 100 supervised hours, or 50 plus an ODOT-approved course. Night hours: not in the handbook. Adults: not stated.
- Pennsylvania: A mandatory 6 months from permit issue before the road test, with at least 65 hours including 10 at night and 5 in bad weather (form DL-180C). The handbook states the 6-month wait for under-18s in its References chapter.
- Rhode Island: Hold the Limited Instructional Permit at least 6 months. Under 18: 50 supervised hours, 10 at night, on a notarized affidavit. If you turn 18 before holding it 1 year, you may apply for a full license.
- South Carolina: Hold the beginner's permit more than 180 days, regardless of age. Ages 15–16: 40 hours including 10 at night, plus driver education. 17+: no hours listed.
- South Dakota: Minors 14–17: 275 days, or 180 days with approved driver education. 50 hours including 10 after dark and 10 in inclement weather. Over 18: no stated holding period, but a drive test is required.
- Tennessee: Under 18: 180 days (6 months) before the Intermediate Restricted license. 50 hours including 10 at night, certified on SF-1256. Adults: holding period not stated.
Texas to Wyoming
- Texas: Under 18: hold a learner, hardship or combined license at least 6 months. Supervised hours: not in the handbook. 18+: no holding period stated.
- Utah: Ages 16–17: 6 months. Age 18: none, but driver education is required. Age 19+: 90 days unless driver education is completed. 40 hours with a parent, 10 after sunset.
- Vermont: Hold the Learner's Permit at least 1 year, with a clean record for the last 6 months, before a Junior license. 40 hours including 10 at night. Adults: not stated.
- Virginia: 18+: hold the permit 60 days before the first road test, or complete approved driver education. The handbook states the same rule for 19+ on another page, so it's inconsistent. The under-18 holding period and supervised hours are not confirmed in the notes; the handbook points to the DMV's teen driver guide. Check dmv.virginia.gov.
- Washington: Hold an instruction permit at least 6 months. 50 hours including 10 at night, certified by a parent or guardian. At 18+ the listed requirements have no driver training, holding period or hours. (Source: the Washington driver guide; check the Department of Licensing for the current version.)
- West Virginia: Level 2 needs 180 consecutive conviction-free days at Level 1, plus 50 hours including 10 at night, or an approved driver education course. At 18+: hold the instruction permit at least 30 days before the road test if you've never held a Level 2 license.
- Wisconsin: Under 18: hold the permit at least 6 months. 50 hours: 40 in daylight and 10 in darkness. Adults: no holding period listed.
- Wyoming: The minimum permit holding period isn't in the handbook. At 16, the intermediate license needs either a restricted license or an instruction permit plus 50 certified hours with 10 at night. Full privileges at 16½ need 6 months on the intermediate license plus driver education.
Before you book the road test
- Count the days from the date your permit was issued, not the date you started practicing.
- Finish and sign your driving log or affidavit. Several states require it notarized or on a specific form.
- Check for tickets. In many states a violation can extend the holding period.
- Confirm the rule with your state DMV, since rules change and handbooks can lag behind.
While you wait, you can use the time to study. GetMyPermit has free practice tests for every state to get ready for the knowledge test.
Sources
- Alabama driver manual (ALEA)
- Alaska driver manual
- Arizona driver license manual
- Arkansas driver license manual
- California driver handbook
- Colorado driver handbook
- Connecticut driver's manual
- Delaware driver manual
- D.C. DMV: learner permits and provisional licenses
- D.C. DMV: provisional license
- D.C. DMV: graduated license program
- Florida driver handbook
- Georgia driver's manual
- Hawaii driver's manual
- Idaho driver's manual
- Illinois rules of the road
- Indiana driver's manual
- Iowa driver's license manual
- Kansas driving handbook
- Kentucky driver manual
- Louisiana driver manual (check the Louisiana OMV for the current official version)
- Maine motorist handbook
- Maryland driver's manual
- Massachusetts driver's manual
- Michigan driver's manual
- Minnesota driver's manual
- Mississippi driver's manual
- Missouri driver guide
- Montana driver manual
- Nebraska driver's manual
- Nevada driver's handbook
- New Hampshire driver manual (check the NH DMV for the current official version)
- New Jersey driver manual
- New Mexico driver's manual
- New York driver's manual
- North Carolina driver handbook
- North Dakota driver's manual
- Ohio driver's manual
- Oklahoma driver manual
- Oregon driver manual
- Pennsylvania driver's manual
- Rhode Island driver manual
- South Carolina driver's manual
- South Dakota driver license manual
- Tennessee driver manual
- Texas driver handbook
- Utah driver handbook
- Vermont driver's manual
- Virginia driver's manual
- Washington driver guide (check the Washington Department of Licensing for the current official version)
- West Virginia driver's licensing handbook
- Wisconsin motorists' handbook
- Wyoming driver's manual